Massage Therapists'
Association of Nova Scotia

Board Members

Duties of the Directors of the Massage Therapists’ Association of Nova Scotia are set out in our  Memorandum of Association and By-laws. All Directors must be Active Members of the Association and their terms are for two years.  To learn more about being a Director, check out the Director information sheet .

If you are interested in becoming a Director, or know someone in MTANS that you believe would be a great addition, please use this  Nomination Form.  Directors are elected at the Annual General Meeting of the association.

President – Shawn Foubert (1st term ends - SAGM 2021)

Shawn has been practicing massage therapy for 30 years, trained in both Eastern and Western philosophies, Shawn is an intuitive therapist at heart. Shawn has been a member of MTANS since returning home in 2008. Since that time he has been on the Board of Directors with MTANS for 4 years, two of those years as Vice President. He was also the School Liaison for MTANS for that time. Shawn supervise clinics at the Canadian College of Massage and Hydro Therapy and is currently taking the Train the Trainer course  from N.S. Dept, of Labor and Advance Education,  so he will be able to teach at the college. Shawn teaches a course for Massage Therapists on Indian Head Massage and is currently developing a new course for CEU’s. Shawn has recently returned home from an 18 month over seas experience in Doha, Qatar.


Vice President – Kelly Carrington (2nd term ends – SAGM 2021)

Mr. Kelly Carrington has been an active member of MTANS since July 22, 2001.  Prior to his most recent election to the Board, Kelly had served previously as a Director of MTANS from 2011 to 2015.  During those years, he served as President from January 2012 to May 2015.  Kelly Graduated from Northumberland college in 2001 and has been working full time ever since. Kelly is also a certified birth Doula and the only Male to be certified by DONA International.  Kelly enjoys working as an RMT and ManDoula and looks forward to seeing Massage Therapy regulated in the province of NS.


Secretary/Treasurer – Jamie Chediac (3rd term ends – SAGM 2021)

Jamie has been a Registered Massage Therapist since 2004. In her career, she has taken extensive training in hands-on ergonomic deep tissue therapy, Injury Prevention for the RMT with Fiona Rattray as well as perinatal professional development including Doula training. She is certified as a Hatha Vinyasa Yoga Teacher and a Barefoot Massage practitioner with the Canadian Institute of Ashiatsu Therapy. Jamie believes that every massage should feel therapeutic but also trigger a relaxation response within the body. With her clients, her main goal is to relieve pain & discomfort while helping navigate postural strain and issues with joint mobility.

Jamie has worked with MTANS as a committee member & Public Relations Chair and now serves as a director on the Board. Being part of the board allows her to be of service, advocate for the profession at large and stay up to date with both provincial & national issues that affect our profession.


Immediate Past President – Amy-Lynne Graves (position ends – AGM 2021)

 Amy has been a Registered Massage Therapist since 2006, working in a variety of clinical settings throughout Nova Scotia. Since joining the MTANS Board of Directors in 2012, Amy has also held the Director and Vice President positions. She is currently the Nova Scotia Liaison for the Canadian Massage Therapy Alliance (CMTA).

Aside from maintaining her own practice, Amy has also worked as an instructor with ICT Northumberland College since 2013. She believes that massage therapy is in integral part of the health profession and that it is crucial to promote awareness in the field as we move toward legislation in this province.

Director – Patricia Shepherd (2nd term ends – AGM 2022)

Patricia Shepherd graduated from the Sutherland-Chan Massage Therapy School in Toronto in 1999. She spent 18 years practicing in Toronto before moving with her husband and dog to Nova Scotia last year. Most of her work experience is in spa environments where she has had the opportunity to enrich her schooling with additional courses in aquatic massage, advanced hydrotherapy and prenatal treatments. Coming from Ontario, Patricia chose to join MTANS with the hope of helping further the regulatory process in Nova Scotia as she sees it as an essential step for massage therapy both here and nationally.

With the addition of a second fur baby, Patrica now resides in Beaverbank and enjoys the laid back lifestyle of the Maritimes. She and her husband have enjoyed touring the province to see all Nova Scotia has to offer.


Director – Anne Crowell (2nd term ends – AGM 2022)

Anne moved to the Annapolis Valley from Ste Croix Hants County in 2000 after graduating from ICT Northumberland College, to start her Massage Therapy Career in the Town of Middleton. In 2003 Anne established her own Massage Therapy Clinic on School Street where she helps educate her Clients to accept responsibility for the role in which they play in their own healthcare by advocating for change. After working in the Town for over 12 years Anne felt a strong desire to give back to the Community and joined the Annapolis Community Health Board as a Volunteer and has been given the opportunity to contribute to several other Committees on that Board. Anne takes on a leadership role for the Annapolis County Active Kids Healthy Kids Society as one of the Board of Directors, Treasurer, Secretary, and Chair of the Funding Committee as well as being a financial contributor to that Society. In 2017 Anne accepted a position as the Municipal Representative for the Town of Middleton on the Soldiers Memorial Hospital Foundation. Anne, feeling the same desire to give back, joined the MTANS Board where she feels every voice is needed to create positive change.


Director – Lori Smith (1st term ends – SAGM 2020)

Lori is originally from Halifax and also lived and worked in Vancouver, B.C. for several years.

Lori knew she wanted to become a Massage Therapist after having a muscle strain treated at the CCMH Student Clinic in Vancouver. Lori persued her dream and graduated from The Canadian College of Massage & Hydrotherapy, Halifax.

Lori believes that massage is essential for overall wellness. Lori looks forward to Massage Therapy becoming regulated in Nova Scotia.

Mary Beth Nicholson – Director (1st term ends AGM 2022)

Alison Timmons - Director (1st term ends AGM 2022)

Executive Director – Sandra Williams, Pathfinder Group

Sandra is a graduate of both Concordia University (BComm HR Management) and Saint Mary’s University (BA Honours Psychology). She spent over 20 years as a Naval Officer both “at sea and ashore” gaining valuable experience in leadership, HR management, administration, discipline & grievances. Sandra worked as a Research Coordinator at Dalhousie University (Adolescent Mental Health) and the IWK Health Centre (Pediatric Pain). Since 2010, Sandra has been a Client Service Manager with the Pathfinder Group, a company with over 50 years’ experience managing many different nonprofit associations and health regulatory colleges.

Sandra is the proud mother of two teenagers and in her spare time enjoys yoga, reading a good book and cooking. She looks forward to the day when Massage Therapy is regulated in the province of Nova Scotia.

Vacancy Policy

In the case of vacancies, Director positions can be filled by appointment. Members so appointed complete the term of the Director being replaced and then enter the election process at the next AGM. At the first meeting of the Board following the AGM, the ‘new’ Board elects the President, Vice-President, and Secretary-Treasurer.

MTANS Office

Park Lane Terraces
502 – 5657 Spring Garden Rd
Lobby Box 142
Halifax, NS B3J 3R4